A Brief History
| "The Little Shul" on Chumalia Street was the
original home of the San Leandro Hebrew Congregation. When the
community outgrew their first building, they sold it to a church and
moved to the present site on Dolores Avenue.
The Little Schul around 1898
| The Little Schul around 1953
|| Soon after dedicating the new building, a unique
opportunity was afforded Temple Beth Sholom. The church had also
outgrown the "Little Shul". The members and friends of TBS then bought
the original building and moved it to the new site.
| Today The Little Shul" stands behind our new
building next to the nursery school play yard. It is still used today
for Saturday morning services, some classes and on special occasions.
|| The Little Schul today